Skip to the content

Kurdistan Parliament's Committees

The Kurdistan Parliament has 19 standing committees that work on a wide range of subject areas. Much of Parliament’s work takes place in these committees. Their mandate is to study bills (draft laws), propose bills and give opinions, study suggested amendments, and to submit them to Parliament’s leadership. Committees provide important input during the stages of passing a bill through Parliament into law. Committees also scrutinize the performance of government institutions in their area of work, and take evidence and opinions from experts and civil society. These mandates are in Article 38 of parliament’s procedural rules. 

According to Article 37 of Parliament’s procedural rules, committees are formed at the first session following a parliamentary election.

Standing Committees

Click on a committee to see its members

Legislative Committee

Agriculture and Irrigation

Finance and Economic Affairs

Culture, Civil Society , Sports and Youth

Education, Higher Education, and Scientific Research

Endowments and Religious Affairs

Energy, Natural Resources, Commerce and Industry

Health, Environment and Consumer Rights


Interior, Security and Local Councils

Kurdistani Areas outside KRG Administrative Area

Martyrs’ Affairs, Genocide and Political Prisoners

Municipalities, Transport, Communication, Travel and Tourism

Parliament Affairs and Complaints


Protection of Women's Rights

Reconstruction and Investment

Relations and Kurdish Diaspora

Social Affairs and Protection of Human Rights