Skip to the content

Deputy Speaker Dr. Hemin Hawrami and MPs welcome European Parliament Delegation

Kurdistan Parliament Deputy Speaker Dr. Hemin Hawrami, Secretary Muna Kahveci and several MPs on 8 March 2023 welcomed a high-level delegation from the European Parliament, led by Ms. Sara Skyttedal, Chair of the European Parliament’s Delegation for Relations with Iraq.

They discussed the current political, economic and security situation in Kurdistan Region and Iraq, Erbil-Baghdad talks, the next Kurdistan Parliament election, and strengthening parliamentary relations.

Deputy Speaker Hawrami thanked the European Union for their longstanding support for Kurdistan Region in many areas.

The Deputy Speaker gave an overview of the major laws that have been passed in the current term of Parliament, such as the Labour Law, Reform Law, Education Law and several items of legislation that aim to bolster economic diversification.

Deputy Speaker Hawrami and other MPs said that the next Parliament election must take place this year before the end of the extension, and that the ethnic and religious communities should decide for themselves what election system should be used for their reserved seats.

The Kurdistan Parliament MPs and their European counterparts agreed on increasing cooperation and ties between their legislatures.

The Delegation chair Ms. Skyttedal said that the European Union places great importance on the democracy, security and stability of Kurdistan Region and all of Iraq.

The EP delegation comprised the Vice Chair Mr Domenec Ruiz Devesa (Spain), Mr Marco Campomenosi (Italy), and administrators Mr Roberto Bendin and Ms Marina Graser Lasic. They were accompanied by the Head of the EU Liaison Office in Erbil, Dr. Torkild Byg. The KRG Representative to the EU Mr. Delavar Ajgeiy participated in the meeting.